Local Government in the Philippines

Local Government in the Philippines

Local government in the Philippines is divided into four levels: Autonomous regions Provinces and cities independent from a province Component cities and municipalities Barangays All divisions below the regional level are called “local government units (LGUs).” According to the Constitution, the LGUs “shall enjoy local autonomy”, and in which the president exercises “general supervision”. Congress […]

Local government in Malaysia

The local government or local authority (Malay: kerajaan tempatan or pihak berkuasa tempatan (PBT)) is the lowest level in the system of government in Malaysia—after federal and state. It has the power to collect taxes (in the form of assessment tax), to create laws and rules (in the form of by-laws) and to grant licenses and permits for any trade in its area […]

Local Government in UK

Local government in the United Kingdom is structured in two different ways. In Scotland, Wales and parts of England – Unitary, Metropolitan and London Borough Councils – a single tier, all-purpose council is responsible for all local authority functions. The remainder of the UK has a two-tier system in which two separate councils divide responsibility: […]

Local Government in Norway

Norway is divided into 19 counties and 430 municipalities (2008). The powers of the county and municipal councils for self-government have been delegated from the State, and are set out in legislation, not in the Constitution. The State is directly represented at a local level through the County Governors’ offices. The municipalities are the most […]

LG in Italy

Local Government in Italy ‘The Republic consists of municipalities, provinces, metropolitan cities, regions and the State. Municipalities, provinces, metropolitan cities and regions are autonomous entities with their own statutes, powers and functions according to the principles defined in the constitution’. This is the framework of the Italian legal system laid down in article 114 of […]

Local Government in Denmark

Denmark is divided into five regions and 98 municipalities (Danish: kommuner, sing.: kommune). This was established per an administrative reform, effective January 1, 2007 which replaced the counties (amter) with five regions (regioner). The 270 municipalities were consolidated into 98 larger units, most of which have at least 20,000 inhabitants. The reason was to give the new […]

Local Government in Sri Lanka

Local government is the third and lowest level of government in Sri Lanka – after the central government and provincial councils. The local government bodies are collectively known as local authorities. They are responsible for providing a variety of local public services including roads, sanitation, drains, housing, libraries, public parks and recreational facilities. Local authorities […]

Local Government in Pakistan

Local governments have existed in the Indian subcontinent for many centuries, with the first municipal corporation set-up in Madras in 1688 by the East India Company. In 1842, the Conservancy Act which lead to the formation of sanitary committees for garbage disposal became the first formal measure of municipal organization which applied to the Bengal […]

Local Government of India

Local Government of India refers to the government of the 28 Indian states and the 7 union territories. There are a total of 6,45,000 local governments of India. Local governments of the rural regions are termed as the Panchayats. The local government in the urban areas is referred to as the nagar panchayats and the municipalities. […]